#03 Milestone

It has been months that I stopped visiting my wordpress, but just this week I came to a point which made me realize that I must continue what I started. Well, I was on a busy time when I registered here got hectic schedules and tons of requirements as I pursue my nursing degree but its over now .

Yeay , I have a degree now, it’s a relief ! One milestone down but still got thousands to pursue. It’s a fulfillment to reach one of your childhood goal, how you dreamed about it when you were still young, how much you persevere to obtain it and how your parents sacrificed for it. It is just like some needles were plucked out of your body and be out of agony.

So to recall, when I was on nursery I dreamed to be a scientist, ride on a rocket, travel outer space, get up-close to the stars and fly without the gravity……

Image

…………..just like what I usually see in cartoon movies, but uh-oh that’s impossible! I was on kindergarten before I realized it.  So, during our commencement exercise when I was asked what I wanted to be in the future I proudly replied “I want to be a doctor and heal people!”. I was a sickly child during that time, so I guess the doctors have influenced me.

Image

That remains to be my dream until I was on my 3rd grade then, I learned that in order to be a doctor you must have a pre- medicine course a bachelor degree on pre-med first then spending another 4 years plus a span for a PGI (Post Graduate Intern) then obtain a license. To sum it up, it will take longer years before I could work but still it is a noble profession. Then, I switched to another ambition again; I wanted to become a teacher, being inspired by my elementary mentors with their stories of passion in teaching and dedication to their work and to their students. It is an avenue to deliver knowledge, experiences and guidance to the students.  In that time I imagined that someday I will be wearing eyeglasses, holding a stick and a chalk while conducting a lecture.

Image

That remains to be my dream until I was on my 3rd grade then, I learned that in order to be a doctor you must have a pre- medicine course a bachelor degree on pre-med first then spending another 4 years plus a span for a PGI (Post Graduate Intern) then obtain a license. To sum it up, it will take longer years before I could work but still it is a noble profession. Then, I switched to another ambition again; I wanted to become a teacher, being inspired by my elementary mentors with their stories of passion in teaching and dedication to their work and to their students. It is an avenue to deliver knowledge, experiences and guidance to the students.  In that time I imagined that someday I will be wearing eyeglasses, holding a stick and a chalk while conducting a lecture.

It never changed, not until I stepped on my senior year in high school, where nursing profession boomed that time. I was carried by the wind together with the nursing colleges visiting my university offering great deals. I once dreamed to become a nurse, but it wasn’t that serious than I dreamed of being a doctor a teacher or a nerd scientist. I love putting povidone iodine on my wounds though (being haphazard kid gives u a lot of injury) but I had never expect that I would be in this tract.

So, I took up nursing and it wasn’t easy mentally, physically, socially and financially, pouring out everything you can together with your sleepless nights. There were even times that I asked myself if it was my choice (Hey, girl really?) but it doesn’t matter now, I must put my love on it.

Image

Anyway, I realized that the end of my chosen path was the sum of my childhood dreams; from being a scientist outer space, becoming a doctor to a teacher. Nursing is more than that a nurse could be a caregiver, an advocate, a teacher, counselor, role model, clinician, manager and a researcher. It covers a wide scope and it’s a great honor whenever you were able to save someone’s life.

As of now I am striving and praying for my license… a goal that I should accomplish and must not be changed this year. I believe that in God’s hand it will work!

Leave a Reply

